Thursday, July 12, 2007

My Bipolar Journal - Episode 94

My Bipolar Journal – Episode 94

July 12, 2007

Okay, so I'm angry. I'm angry at the media more than I could ever be at the world. You see, I don't have cable. I don't have a remote for anything but my radio, DVD player and vibrator. The news come on and sometimes I'm caught underneath my computer and a flippant thought.

Today, within five minutes I saw a man holding a gun to his head, a story about a kid who got shot at a football game and something about a drowning. I turned it off in the story about the miner's trapped. It's not so much the stories that get me (although they do), but the presentation. They actually show the guy holding the gun to his head, they actually walk up a kid at a school and ask him what the gunshot sounded like. They made him repeat what it sounded like. Probably by bribing him and telling him he'll be on television. Now I'm not saying that people don't have a right to know certain things. The man with the gun to his head is in a neighborhood full of families who now have to stay inside their homes. A good idea, but why show him and scare his potential family and friends. Why make a child relive a moment that is already potentially traumatizing. For a little news? To make people watch the death of people. And, I'm really sorry about the person who drowned, but really, what business is any of it to me? That's someone else's life. Someone else's sorrow and pain. Like we all don't have enough of our own to deal with. Have we really grown so nosey that not only do we have to know everything, we have to make it as emotionally traumatizing as possible?

I wrote this to a friend of mine while I watched it, nearly mesmerized by the media retardation:

Why do people watch the news? Why do people feel the need to remind us and rub in the fact that Humans are nothing but victims in it's clever plot to make us cry and think bad thoughts about people? Is it some sort of clever ploy to see if we can recover from it or if we can be better than it? If so, I'm going to win.

In my other news as well....

I'm also bothered by something much more petty and selfish, but at least it's mine to share. I've heard a lot recently about secret relationships. Now me, if you keep up, know that I have no secrets about me personally. I do however help keep secrets for others, but then it makes me wonder about the people I hang around. People who have to side step conversations and comments or even talking at all about things in their own life because of the other person who is perfectly content with who they are. Why do the content people do this? Because they care about the other person. But why does the person with secrets have them? I know some of the answers, but I never agree with them. I'll respect them, but I can't figure out why people just can't be themselves with everyone and the people who cause them to feel secretive should just bite them... and me.

No comments: