Thursday, February 14, 2008

My Bipolar Journal - Episode 177

My Bipolar Journal – Episode 177

February 14, 2008

OK, I’m ashamed I’m even acknowledging this day in any way shape or form since it’s not even a real holiday, which is in turn, the only reason I’m acknowledging it. Now, I believed this even when I was with someone. I did celebrate it last year because He threw up this big excuse that He had never had a Valentine on Valentine’s Day (even though I’m pretty certain that’s a lie) and wanted to celebrate it. I was never really into it when I was with Chris, although a few gifts were periodically exchanged. I just have never seen the point in any “holiday” celebrating being a “couple”. It only makes everyone else feel inadequate and like they aren’t worthy of being Human when they’re not in a relationship.

So often lately I’ve seen so many people making their significant other their entire identity. This is just so lame. People posting in their My Space pictures only pictures of them and their “whoever” or putting in the name box “Mrs. So and So” or “So and so loves so and so”. It’s just so lame. It makes people say things like, “Fuck Valentine’s Day” or “Happy the Shittiest Day of the Year”. And really, how could it be?

Celebrating being a couple is so stupid. Especially now that we have three holidays for it. You are required to celebrate Valentine’s Day, your anniversary and my least favorite of them all... Sweetest Day.

The only people who say, “Happy Valentine’s Day” are people who think that their special because they have a boyfriend/girlfriend, fiancée, husband/wife, or whatever. People who say, “Fuck Valentine’s Day” are people who are trying to define themselves by being a couple. I think both are lame.

You know, I’m happy with me. I don’t need some stupid day that is a reminder that you’re all delusional. It just makes no sense to me. I have my birthday and that’s just for me, well, and probably a few other people. It’s a day I can make my own though and don’t have to worry about what someone else is going to think of what I decide to do that day or if someone bought me an expensive enough gift of spent the appropriate amount of time with me. I feel sorry for all the people getting proposed to today with an answer of “yes” so that they can enter through the next archway of delusion.

What’s so wrong with just being you? What’s so wrong with being “by yourself”? I love it and I never feel lonely. Saying one person can define me is like saying all my friends and family that I love are worthless and less important to me. I don’t like that one bit.

No comments: