Monday, May 19, 2008

My Bipolar Journal - Episode 207

My Bipolar Journal – Episode 207

May 20, 2008

So, why is Juicy Juice only for kids? Would someone actually stop me from buying it? If I went through a self scan aisle at Kroger and scanned Juicy Juice would some kinds of alarm go off demanding that I prove that I have a child before I take it home? And even then, what if I was buying it for someone else’s kid. Why can’t I have 100% juice. How come when you want to buy 100% for kids it comes in a package called “Juicy Juice” and probably only costs $2 to buy, but if I go to the adult juices, it’s marked in some sort of fancy packaging that looks like it only belongs in the refrigerator of rich people and is called “Valencia” and costs $6 for a container half if not a quarter of the size of Juicy Juice. Do kids deserve 100% more than adults and at a lower price? Are we really such a slave to trying to “grow up” that we feel more grown up about drinking Valencia out of an oddly shaped container with cursive, fancy, wedding invitation font rather than walk on over to another aisle and buy juice in a jug with a crazy name and comic font?

And the commercial. It’s all how someone commercializes a project. There’s more guilt involved in buying something for kids too. The whole commercial is targeted to mothers and how bad of a mom you would be for not giving your kids 100% Juicy Juice. It lists all these attributes of being a good mother (which sound absolutely wretched to me) and that if you’re a mom and didn’t by your kid Juicy Juice that somehow your role as a mother is tainted and you are not a good mother in the least bit. Got news for you… you’re probably not going to be a good mom all the time anyway regardless if you serve Tropicana Homestyle with juicy bits of orange or Juicy Juice. Chances are you aren't a good mom even half the time. All of those qualities sound absolutely exhausting.

No comments: